TAKE ME TO PROM

Director : Andrew Moir

Country of origin : Canada

Runtime : 00:20:30

Project type : Documentary, Short

Language : English

Queer people between 17 and 88 years old tell about their high school prom night. The intimate accounts of this passage into adolescence provide a (d)surprising prism through which to observe 70 years of the social situation of LGBTIQ people in Canada. Superbly staged, this documentary has already seduced some thirty festivals in North America.

Director's Notes - Andrew Moir : 

Andrew Moir is a Canadian documentary filmmaker. He is best known for his 2019 film Take Me to Prom, which won the Canadian Screen Award for Best Short Documentary at the 8th Canadian Screen Awards in 2020.

"In making this film, I want to encourage the viewer to look at a traditionally heterosexual milestone through a queer lens, spanning multiple generations. Making this documentary showed me that many queer youth have been living full lives being themselves for much longer than I had imagined. I found the resilience in the subjects incredibly inspiring."

Films : 

  • 2019 :  Take Me to Prom ‧ Short/Documentary ‧ 20 min

  • 2017 : Babe, I Hate To Go ‧ Documentary ‧ 19 min

  • 2012 : Just As I Remember ‧ Drama/Short ‧ 18 min

  • Uprooted - Short/Documentary ‧ 6 min

✨ NEVER MISS A FILM FESTIVAL ✨

TAKE ME TO PROM

Réalisateur : Andrew Moir

Pays d'origine : Canada

Durée : 00:20:30

Type de projet : Documentaire, Court-métrage

Langue : Français sous-titré en Anglais

Des personnes queer de 17 à 88 ans racontent leur soirée de promotion au lycée, « high school prom ». Les récits intimes de ce passage au temps de l’adolescence constituent un prisme (d)étonnant pour observer 70 ans de situation sociale des LGBTIQ au Canada. Superbement mis en scène, ce docu- mentaire a déjà séduit une trentaine de festivals en Amérique du Nord.

Notes sur le réalisateur - Andrew Moir : 

Andrew Moir est un réalisateur de documentaires canadien. Il est surtout connu pour son film de 2019 Take Me to Prom, qui a remporté le Canadian Screen Award du meilleur court métrage documentaire aux 8e Canadian Screen Awards en 2020.

"En réalisant ce film, je veux encourager le spectateur à regarder une étape traditionnellement hétérosexuelle à travers une lentille queer, couvrant plusieurs générations. La réalisation de ce documentaire m'a montré que de nombreux jeunes queer vivent bien plus longtemps que je ne l'avais imaginé. J'ai trouvé la résilience des sujets incroyablement inspirante."

Films : 

  • 2019 : Take Me to Prom ‧ Court métrage/Documentaire ‧ 20 min

  • 2017 : Babe, I Hate To Go ‧ Documentaire ‧ 19 min

  • 2012 : Just As I Remember ‧ Drame/Court métrage ‧ 18 min

  • Uprooted - Court métrage/Documentaire ‧ 6 min

✨ NE MANQUEZ JAMAIS UN FESTIVAL DU FILM ✨