KAPAEMAHU

Director : Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu

Co-directors : Dean Hamer, Joe WIlson

Director of animation : Daniel Sousa

Country of origin : United States 

Runtime : 00:08:00

Project time : Animation

Language : Hawaiian with English subtitles

Long ago, four extraordinary individuals of both male and female spirit brought the healing arts from Tahiti to Hawaii. Beloved by the people for their gentle ways and miraculous cures, they imbued four giant boulders with their powers.  The stones still stand on what is now Waikiki Beach, but the true story behind them has been hidden – until now. Narrated in an ancient Hawaiian dialect, Kapaemahu brings this powerful legend back to life in vivid animation, seen through the eyes of a curious child.

Director's note - Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu : 

Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu is a Native Hawaiian teacher, cultural practitioner, composer and filmmaker who uses digital media to protect and perpetuate indigenous languages and traditions. She began her film work as a protagonist and educational advisor for the award winning documentaries Kumu Hina and A Place in the Middle, and received a National Education Association Human Rights Award, Native Hawaiian Educator of the year and White House Champion of Change for the groundbreaking impact campaigns associated with those films. Continuing her journey to the other side of the lens, Hina produced the PBS/ARTE feature documentary Leitis in Waiting and award-winning short Lady Eva about her transgender sisters in the Kingdom of Tonga. Hina is also a transgender health advocate, burial council chair, and composer of “Ku Haaheo E Kuu Hawaii”, the internationally-known anthem for the protection of Mauna Kea.

Films : 

  • 2020 : Kapaemahu : Animation ‧ 8 min

  • 2018 : Leitis in waiting : Documentairy ‧ 1h 12m

  • 2017 : Afterearth : Short/Documentary ‧ 13 min

  • 2017 : Lady Eva : Short/Documentary ‧ 11 min

  • 2014 : Kumu Hina (A Place in the Middle) : Short/Animation ‧ 25 min

Note on Co-Directors - Dean Hamer and Joe Wilson :

Co-directors/producers Dean Hamer and Joe Wilson are Emmy and GLAAD award-winning filmmakers dedicated to telling stories that emanate from the voices of those on the outside. Their work has been screened at film festivals in Berlin, Toronto and Los Angeles, on PBS and international programs, and has been supported by Sundance, Ford, ITVS and Pacific Islanders in Communications. This is their fifth film with Hina.

Note on Animation Directors - Daniel Sousa :

Daniel Sousa is an Oscar-nominated artist who uses themes rooted in myths and legends to examine the inner struggles between our intelligence and our unconscious impulses. Born on the island of Cape Verde, he approaches film from a painter's perspective, focusing on the fragility of moments, memories and fleeting perceptions. His films include the Oscar-nominated Feral, which premiered at Sundance, and the four-part PBS special Native America, which uses animation to weave history and science with living indigenous traditions.

NEVER MISS A FILM FESTIVAL

KAPAEMAHU

Réalisateur : Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu

Co-réalisateurs : Dean Hamer, Joe WIlson

Directeur de l'animation : Daniel Sousa

Pays d'origine : États Unis

Durée : 00:08:00

Type de projet : Animation

Langue : Hawaïen sous-titré Anglais, Français ou Espagnol

Kapaemahu révèle l’origine de quatre mystérieux rochers et le légendaire esprit transgenre qui les habitent. Sous la forme d’une animation picturale envoûtante et avec une narration en dialecte hawaïen, ce film est réalisé par une « mahu », une personne indigène du troisième genre. La protagoniste de Leitis in Waiting (au festival en 2018) signe ici un bijou déjà auréolé de plusieurs récompenses.

Note sur le réalisateur - Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu : 

Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu est une enseignante, une pratiquante culturelle, un compositeur et une cinéaste hawaïenne qui utilise les médias numériques pour protéger et perpétuer les langues et les traditions autochtones. Elle a commencé son travail cinématographique en tant que protagoniste et conseillère pédagogique pour les documentaires primés Kumu Hina et A Place in the Middle, et a reçu le prix des droits de l'homme de la National Education Association, l'éducatrice autochtone hawaïenne de l'année et la championne du changement de la Maison Blanche pour la révolutionnaire campagnes d'impact associées à ces films. Poursuivant son voyage de l'autre côté de l'objectif, Hina a produit le long métrage documentaire PBS / ARTE Leitis in Waiting et le court métrage primé Lady Eva sur ses sœurs transgenres dans le Royaume des Tonga. Hina est également défenseur de la santé des transgenres, présidente du conseil des funérailles et compositrice de "Ku Haaheo E Kuu Hawaii".

Films : 

  • 2020 : Kapaemahu : Animation ‧ 8 min

  • 2018 : Leitis in waiting : Documentaire ‧ 1h 12m

  • 2017 : Afterearth : Court métrage/Documentaire ‧ 13 min

  • 2017 : Lady Eva : Court métrage/Documentaire ‧ 11 min

  • 2014 : Kumu Hina (A Place in the Middle) : Court métrage/Animation ‧ 25 min

Note sur les co-réalisateurs - Dean Hamer et Joe Wilson :

Les co-réalisateurs / producteurs Dean Hamer et Joe Wilson sont des cinéastes primés aux Emmy et GLAAD qui se consacrent à raconter des histoires qui émanent de la voix de ceux de l'extérieur. Leur travail a été projeté dans les festivals de films de Berlin, Toronto et Los Angeles, sur PBS et des émissions internationales, et a été soutenu par Sundance, Ford, ITVS et Pacific Islanders in Communications. C'est leur cinquième film avec Hina.

Note sur les directeur de l'animation - Daniel Sousa  :

Daniel Sousa est un artiste nominé aux Oscars qui utilise les thèmes enracinés dans les mythes et les légendes pour examiner les luttes intérieures entre notre intelligence et nos pulsions inconscientes. Né sur l'île du Cap-Vert, il aborde le cinéma du point de vue d'un peintre, en se concentrant sur la fragilité des instants, des souvenirs et des perceptions fugaces. Ses films incluent le Feral nominé aux Oscars, qui a été présenté en première à Sundance, et le PBS spécial Native America en quatre parties, qui utilise l'animation pour tisser l'histoire et la science avec des traditions autochtones vivantes.

✨ NE MANQUEZ JAMAIS UN FESTIVAL DU FILM ✨